Skip to content
St. Louis Venue

St Louis

St Louis

Once an important fur trading hub, St. Louis is one of the most historic cities in the United States; host of the 1904 Olympic Games and World’s Fair and location of the nation’s first gas station (1905), Mound City didn’t welcome its first Supercross until 1996, a race that will forever be know as the night “The Streak” ended.

Fast Facts

St. Louis Venues

Although it has changed names many times, one venue has hosted all rounds of Supercross in St. Louis. The Dome at America’s Center, known as the Transworld Dome (1995-2001) and the Edward Jones Dome (2002-2016), opened in 1995 as the new home of the NFL’s St. Louis Rams, who had relocated from LA.


After 21 years, the Rams moved back to LA and The Dome is now the home field of the UFL’s St. Louis Battlehawks. Supercross in St. Louis normally falls in the round 11-14 range but has been as early as round two and as late as round 15. Since ‘96, St. Louis has been a regular series stop but has been on an every-other-year rotation since 2018.

Iconic Moments

From the end of McGrath’s streak to both James Stewart’s and Ricky Carmichael’s last wins, St. Louis fans have witnessed some very special moments in Supercross history.

Jeff Emig: St. Louis, 1996 Winner

Jeff Emig won his second career main event but, more importantly, ended Jeremy McGrath’s Supercross win streak at 13 races. The first ever St. Louis Supercross was round 14 in a 15 round season and McGrath had wrapped up the title at Pontiac (round 12). With the title clinched but the perfect season in play, McGrath had both nothing and everything on the line. Read the full story of this historic night in the We Went Fast Original “Jeremy McGrath And The Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Night In St. Louis.”

Ricky Carmichael’s 48th and final win

Ricky Carmichael sneaks another one in during his part-time retirement year but even more memorable was James Stewart charging back from 19th to second place. The main event started with fireworks when title contenders Chad Reed and Stewart (who entered with a 17 point advantage) battled for the lead. When Stewart made a move on lap one, Reed immediately countered but collided with Stew, and took them both down. Eric Sorby officially led laps 1-3 but Carmichael took over the lead on lap four and led to the end. Reed ended lap one in eighth, while Stewart was back in 19th. Stewart’s charge back to the podium was one of the legendary feats that doesn’t happen in today’s racing. He (aggressively) moved into second on lap 11 and started running down Carmichael, whose massive lead proved to be too much to overcome.

2010: Ryan Dungey and Ryan Villopoto Battle

Rookie Ryan Dungey won his fifth race of the season and the championship chase effectively ended in St. Louis (round 14 of 17) when Ryan Villopoto suffered a season-ending injury while battling Dungey on lap 12. But before that, this race had ‘instant classic’ all over it. Villopoto came in 12 points behind Dungey and knew he couldn’t let that lead grow any more. On lap nine of 20 he “went for the jugular” as Jeff Emig yelled on SPEED TV. The aggressive block pass took both riders to the ground. When Dungey picked up his still-running RM-Z450, his front wheel wedged into Villopoto’s forks. By the time they both rolled away, their 14 second advantage over Andrew Short and Kevin Windham evaporated and it was a four-way battle for the lead. Villopoto came out of the melee in first but three laps later he ejected from his bike and severely broke his leg.

2014: James Stewart’s 50th and final win

Winning three in a row for the first time in five years, nobody who watched James Stewart run down and pass defending champion Ryan Villopoto would have ever said they had witnessed the final victory of his career. With Jeremy McGrath doing play by play in the broadcast booth, Stew got nostalgic after the win: “It’s such an honor to be even close to [McGrath]. I’m just a kid from Haines City, FL who wanted to be like my dad. He rode motorcycles and I wanted to be just like him. I never would have thought I’d be one of the best, second all-time in Supercross, it’s unbelievable.”

Ken Roczen wins in St Louis 2020 ending a 25 round and nearly 3 year winless streak.
2020: Ken Roczen ends 3 year winless streak!

Ken Roczen returned to the top step of the podium after 25 rounds and nearly 3 years (1,092 days) in St Louis 2020.  Roczen took his HRC Honda to victory after a devastating arm injury, illness, and some epic close calls. He’d come so close during that 3 year span, including losing to Cooper Webb in the closest ever finish the year prior, making this win an emotional celebration.

This interactive table details the all-time leaders in St. Louis. Who has the most starts, wins, podiums and points. Filter by class. On mobile, slide left to access more columns.

All-Time Leaders

This interactive table details the winner history in St. Louis. Who won in what year and what round was this venue. Filter by class. On mobile, slide left to access more columns. IMPORTANT: Triple Crown races are in a separate chart. Keep scrolling to see data from those events.

Winner History

Race Results