Skip to content

Glen Helen

San Bernardino, CA

California’s Glen Helen Raceway is a beloved location of many nationals over the years. Located on 256 acres of property, the track is famous for its steep hills and sweeping Talladega Turn located just after the holeshot. While currently off the Motocross calendar, the venue continues to host various race events each year as fans eagerly anticipate its possible return one day.


Glen Helen Raceway is one of the most recognizable circuits in America thanks to its steep hill climbs. The venue has hosted AMA nationals, MXGP races, currently holds events such as the Stopwatch Nationals and the 2-Stroke World Championship and is often utilized as a testing venue. Glen Helen prides itself on making each weekend great for racers, with amenities such as rider showers, a museum, dog parks and RV hookups. The track hosted its first AMA Motocross round in 1993, before stints on the schedule from 1996-2009 and 2014-2018.

Iconic Moments

The iconic Glen Helen Raceway has several iconic moments in its history. From a heated championship battle to the birth of a new juggernaut team, here is a look at some of the most memorable days at GH.

1993-Solid as a Rock

The inaugural Glen Helen National was unlike your traditional summer races. Billed as the EBC Brakes Motofest, the track decided to incorporate Supercross style format elements into a Motocross weekend. Only one moto was run at the event, headlined with a double points format “to carry that same importance” of an outdoor national. The single moto followed a pair of heat races and an LCQ, where 16 riders transferred from each heat and the top 8 LCQ riders continued their day.

After 250 champion Mike Kiedrowski wrapped up the title a week before, Glen Helen knocked him back down to earth. The Kawasaki rider crashed hard, suffering a concussion and a back injury. This left the door open for young teammate Mike Larocco, who finished second at the three prior rounds. Larocco battled through heat and smog to pass Honda’s Steve Lamson for the top spot. In the 125 class, Doug Henry took the points lead with a victory as Jeff Emig fought his sputtering Yamaha, kicking the bike multiple times at one point before the machine refired.

2005-Pushing & Shoving

With Ricky Carmichael’s sixth straight premier class title wrapped up, the focus of the 2005 Glen Helen National was on the 250 class. Heading into the race, Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Ivan Tedesco held the points lead. Known more as a Supercross specialist, the 2-time and defending SX Lites West champ was within reach of the championship, as KTM’s Mike Alessi sat a distant second. As each moto played out, drama and tensions ran high.

Alessi and Tedesco’s teammate Grant Langston battled for the first moto win in a heated duel, with Langston cutting the track after the two hit each other. Langston crossed the finish line first, but got docked for his actions, handing the win to Alessi. The victory was pivotal, as Tedesco went down early and snapped the chain on his KX250. He could only climb to 22nd as he watched his points lead evaporate from 35 to 10.

The final moto of the season was just as chaotic, with Alessi going for the kill. The 800 put both men on the ground and attempted to stand on Tedesco’s motorcycle, to prevent a return to racing. Teammate Matt Walker had Tedesco’s back, stopping his own bike to aid his Team Green counterpart. Tedesco would climb back to 11th and win his first and only outdoor title.

2008-The Comeback Kid

After a pair of knee injuries cost James Stewart nearly a full year of his career, he returned to action for the 2008 Motocross opener. JS7 was immediately the head of the pack, winning the first moto by 16.8 seconds and sweeping the day. While originally seeming like a great return for Stewart, the race would end up being the first step in his quest to become the second rider in history to go 24-0.

2014-A Star Is Born

Returning to the calendar as the opening round of 2014, Glen Helen was the site of a team rising from contender to juggernaut. In the 250 class, the top two stars from the previous season had moved up, and created a wide open title picture before the season. Former 250MX champions Blake Baggett and Dean Wilson, international superstars Christophe Pourcel and Marvin Musquin, as well as Supercross champions/dark horses Jason Anderson and Justin Bogle were all in the conversation. However, one rider put his name on the map and launched a new dynasty in the process. Star Racing Yamaha’s Jeremy Martin dominated, blowing the competition away to win each moto. Martin went from top five level guy to class of the field instantly, winning each moto by 15 and 21 seconds respectively. With teammate Cooper Webb completing a 1-2, the day marked a shift of momentum from Pro Circuit Kawasaki and GEICO Honda to Star Yamaha as the dominant 250 organization.

In the 450 class, Yamaha also experienced success with a shocking moto 1 victory from Josh Grant. Grant held off eventual overall winner Ryan Dungey and rookie Ken Roczen, before the pair would embark on a season long battle for the title.

This interactive table details the all-time leaders at Glen Helen. Who has the most starts, wins, podiums and points. Filter by class. On mobile, slide left to access more columns. To see all years of data, become a member of the We Went Fast Garage and help us continue (and expand) these unique views of the sport’s history.

This interactive table details the Glen Helen winners history. Who won in what year and what round was this venue. Filter by class. On mobile, slide left to access more columns. To see all years of data, become a member of the We Went Fast Garage and help us continue (and expand) these unique views of the sport’s history.