Skip to content
Salt Lake City Venue

Salt Lake City

Salt Lake City

The Crossroads of the West didn’t host a Supercross until 2001 but it has since become a series staple. The Utah capital served as the center of Supercross when racing resumed after the COVID-19-related shutdown in 2020. Since 2020, Salt Lake City has served as the season finale, hosting championship celebrations and shattered dreams.

Fast Facts


Rice-Eccles Stadium, home of NCAA Football’s Utah Utes, has hosted every single Supercross in the beehive state, starting with the inaugural event in 2001.


Iconic Moments

As a late-season staple since 2001, Salt Lake City has hosted many special moments in Supercross history, from Ricky Carmichael’s 2002 title with Honda to Chad Reed’s 265th and final 450SX main event. Perhaps its biggest moment, however, was being the location for racing’s return in 2020.

Ricky Carmichael wins the 2002 Salt Lake City Supercross. Photo: Kenji Shimoda
2002: The Red Renaissance

Following Jeremy McGrath’s shocking exit days before the start of the 1997 season, American Honda experienced an unfamiliar championship drought. That changed when Ricky Carmichael chose to Ride Red for 2002. Carmichael started slow in ’02 but by round 15 in Salt Lake City, he was steamrolling. RC beat Tim Ferry and Mike LaRocco for his 10th win that season and, more importantly he wrapped up his second consecutive Supercross title and returned to Honda to the pinnacle of the sport.


Kevin Windham winning the 2010 Salt Lake City Supercross
2010: Kevin Windham's Last Stand

On a miserable May evening, with rain and temperatures in the mid-40s (the track was actually covered in snow one day earlier), GEICO Honda’s Kevin Windham secured his 18th and final 450SX main event victory. Windham dominated, leading every lap, and in treacherous conditions. He even lapped the already-crowned-2010-champion Ryan Dungey who finished fourth! Windham’s win led a Honda sweep of the podium with Davi Millsaps and Andrew Short.

Eli Tomac, Salt Lake City, 2020
2020 Part 1: A New Normal

Salt Lake City was always scheduled to be the 2020 Supercross finale (for the first time ever!). Not planned was SLC hosting the final SEVEN rounds in a three week long ‘residency’ period (May 31-June 21). This was Supercross when racing returned during the COVID-19 lockdown. All 7 rounds ran within an empty stadium, the only fans present were cardboard cutouts that could be purchased. Four different riders won the races, including new father Eli Tomac (rounds 11, 13) who won his first ever 450SX title in his 7th season in the class. It was Kawasaki’s first title since 2014.

Chad Reed, Salt Lake City, 2020
2020 Part 2: End of an Era

Chad Reed would have preferred to go out in front of a stadium full of fans but the 38-year-old two-time 450SX champ ended his career in Salt Lake City after an emotional 10th place ride in a silent stadium. Competing on a privateer KTM, Reed saved his best finish of the season for his final (and a record 265th) 450SX main event. While Reed’s exit was predictable, Rockstar Energy Husqvarna sweeping the podium was not; Zach Osborne won his first (and, ultimately, only) 450SX after scoring a top five in each of the Salt Lake City races. Jason Anderson and Dean Wilson finished second and third.

This interactive table details the all-time leaders in Salt Lake City. Who has the most starts, wins, podiums and points. Filter by class. On mobile, slide left to access more columns.

All-Time Leaders

This interactive table details the winner history in Salt Lake City. Who won in what year and what round was this venue. Filter by class. On mobile, slide left to access more columns.

Winner History

Race Results