Skip to content
Indianapolis, Lucas Oil Stadium



The first Supercross ever held in the crossroads of America was round 9 of 1992 and Indianapolis has been a constant presence ever since. From McGrath’s domination (6 wins!) to Mike LaRocco’s final Supercross (2004) win Indy has been a strong Midwestern Supercross battleground.

Fast Facts


In late March, 1992, the Hoosier Dome (later renamed RCA Dome) opened its doors to Supercross for the first time. The Hoosier/RCA Dome held the event for 17 straight years before the new home of the NFL’s Indianapolis Colts (built next door) was ready to welcome dirt bike racing action.

Lucas Oil Stadium has been the host of SX in Indy since 2009. Chad Reed was both the last rider to win in the dome and the first to win in Lucas Oil Stadium.

Iconic Moments

Indianapolis would have had a perfect attendance stretch starting in 1992 had it not been for COVID-19. The Indy round was to be stop 11 in 2020 but it was the first race to be cancelled at the start of the pandemic. Here are a few (but definitely not all) great moments in Indy SX history. 

Jeremy McGrath, 1998
Jeremy McGrath: The King of Indy... and SX

The all-time wins leader in Indianapolis, McGrath, won 6 times here between 1993-2000. His win in 1998 was particularly special; not only was it his 48th Supercross win, but his 64th combined SX + MX win, which put him ahead of Bob Hannah as the winningest rider in history. After 6 rounds in 1998, McGrath already had a 45 point lead over Jeff Emig.

2004: Mike LaRocco's last win!

In front of his home state fans, in his 202nd premier class start, Mike LaRocco pulled an uncharacteristic holeshot and led all 20 laps to take his 10th and final career win. “I think this is 3 holeshots in 17 years”, LaRocco said to Cycle News after the race.

1992: Damon Bradshaw throws it away

The first ever Supercross in Indianapolis was round 9 of the series and Damon Bradshaw entered with a 16 point lead over Jean-Michel Bayle. After dogging Jeff Stanton for 12 laps, (with Bayle a close third), Bradshaw ejected from his YZ250 in mid-air when his front end nose-dived over the triples. He finished 19th and Santon cruised to his 15th career win, which was good for 5th on the all-time SX wins list. Stanton and Bayle left tied in points and Bradshaw was 4 points behind them.

Ken Roczen wins the 2023 Indianapolis Supercross. Photo: Garth Milan
2023: Kickstart Kenny!

Ken Roczen was certainly the feel-good story of 2023 when he led wire to wire to give Suzuki its first 450SX win since 2016 (also Roczen). “That was an experience that I’ll never forget, probably on the top of my all-time greatest accomplishments,” Roczen said. After spending six seasons with American Honda, Roczen made the shocking decision to return to Suzuki, the only bike on the gate that still used a kickstarter to ignite the engine.

This interactive table details the all-time leaders in Indy. Who has the most starts, wins, podiums and points. Filter by class. On mobile, slide left to access more columns.

All-Time Leaders

This interactive table details the winner history in Indy. Who won in what year and what round was this venue. Filter by class. On mobile, slide left to access more columns.

Winner History

Race Results