Skip to content
Oracle Park

San Francisco

San Francisco

Returning to the tour for the first time in a generation, San Francisco’s Oracle Park hosted eight rounds of Monster Energy Supercross between 2003-2010, when the venue was called Pacific Bell Park and AT&T Park. This is the earliest appearance for San Fran, which was most often round four.

Fast Facts

Ryan Villopoto is the most recent 450SX winner and Trey Canard won the 250SX final in 2010.

Two riders who competed at San Francisco in 2010 are still racing 450SX today: Josh Hill finished 2nd and Kyle Chisholm was 15th. 250SX rider Phil Nicoletti finished 10th in the 250SX main in 2010.

Located on the water in the SoMa District, Oracle Park has been the home of MLB’s San Francisco Giants since 2000.

Just like in the greater Los Angeles area (Pasadena, Anaheim, LA), where Supercross has been held in multiple stadiums, the sport’s history in the Bay Area has been spread around several locations.

The first race in the regions was in Oakland in 1979, the Jimmy Weinert roosted his way to victory with a paddle tire on his KX250.

Bay Area races have also been held in San Jose and, most recently, at Levi’s Stadium in Santa Clara, which is 43 miles south of Oracle Park.

Iconic Moments

2003: Ricky Carmichael came in to round four as the new points leader and padded that advantage with a 6.3 second victory over Chad Reed. Suzuki’s Stephane Roncada led the first five laps of the first 450SX main event in San Francisco.

2006: A legendary mudder, (shortened to 12 laps), James Stewart won in the rain and muck, outlasting Ricky Carmichael, who pushed him to the very end. “I just wanted to finish,” Stewart said afterward. Carmichael finished second and privateer Nick Wey was third.

2010: While leading by 10 seconds at the end of lap 10, 450SX rookie Ryan Dungey was on his way to a third consecutive victory. Instead, he cross-rutted in a rhythm section, his bike cart-wheeling into the base of the finish line.

Dungey remounted, still in the lead, but was passed by Ryan Villopoto. With a bent up motorcycle, Dungey faded to 4th while Villopoto captured his third career win and first of the season.

Ricky Carmichael and James Stewart, 2006
James Stewart and Ricky Carmichael, 2006. Photo: Simon Cudby

Round 4 in 2006, the San Francisco Supercross was held in a deluge, which turned the track into a quagmire. “I just wanted to finish,” said winner, James Stewart in the post-race press conference. Stewart led all but one of the 12 laps run. Ricky Carmichael battled him to the finish.

Ryan Villopoto on the cover of Cycle News, 2010
Ryan Villopoto on the cover of Cycle News, 2010

Ryan Villopoto won the 2010 San Francisco Supercross, the last time the series visited the city. It was RV2’s third career (of 41) SX victory.

Chad Reed on his way to winning the 2008 San Francisco Supercross
Chad Reed, 2008.

Chad Reed has the most 450SX starts in San Francisco (7) and has scored the most points. He won here in 2004 and 2008.

This interactive table details the all-time leaders in San Francisco. Who has the most starts, wins, podiums and points. Filter by class. On mobile, slide left to access more columns.

All-Time Leaders

This interactive table details the winner history in San Francisco. Who won in what year and what round was this venue. Filter by class. On mobile, slide left to access more columns.

Winner History

Race Results