Skip to content
Fox Raceway overhead view


Pala, California

Pala, California is a small, predominantly Native American community and home to Fox Raceway, host of several Pro Motocross beginnings and endings starting in 2010. Just 25 minutes south of Temecula, Calif., Pala is a frequent testing ground for Calif-based race teams.

Fast Facts


Fox Raceway (formerly Pala Raceway) has hosted all rounds. Often utilized as a practice facility for race teams, Fox Raceway has three different tracks on its property. The venue is open to the public, and hosts camping, a cafe, and trackside support.

Iconic Moments

With the original placement on the calendar as a season ender, several championship triumphs have occurred at Fox Raceway. From Ryan Villopoto’s first 450MX title to Eli Tomac’s fourth, here are some of the biggest moments in the track’s history.

2011 Ryan Villopoto at Pala Raceway
2011: Ryan Villopoto's first 450MX title

While 2010 was the year of Ryan Dungey, it was Ryan Villopoto who took home both premier class championships in 2011. Villopoto sharpened his skills by battling with Ryan Dungey and Chad Reed throughout the year. Entering Pala, Villopoto had a 14 point gap over Dungey, and took 3-1 scores to score his first of two 450MX titles.

Jett Lawrence at Pala 2020
2020: The Beginning and The End

The end of the delayed 2020 season saw Rockstar Energy Husqvarna’s Zach Osborne claim the 450MX title, parlaying his four overall victories into a championship. Winning the 450 overall that afternoon was Chase Sexton, who joined the Honda HRC factory squad for his first 450 season. Sexton went 3-1 for the overall. GEICO Honda, meanwhile, swept the 250 podium in a storybook ending. It was their last race as a team, ending a 23 season run. Seventeen year old Jett Lawrence secured his first career overall Pro Motocross victory; Jeremy Martin and rookie Jo Shimoda completed the podium as Rick Zielfelder’s and Jeff Majkrzak’s operation shut its doors. (Photo: Kit Palmer/Cycle News)

Dylan Ferrandis at Pala II 2021
2021: Yamaha's Return To The Top

When the 2021 season kicked off at Fox Raceway, many expected Eli TomacCooper Webb and defending champion Zach Osborne to be the favorites to win the championship. When the series returned to the track four months later for the finale, it was a rookie holding the #1 plate. France’s Dylan Ferrandis and the Star Racing Yamaha team dominated the 2021 season, scoring six overall wins in 12 rounds to become the first rookie 450MX champion since Ryan Dungey in 2010. In the first year of the Star Racing takeover of Yamaha’s 450 program, the team won the first 450MX title since Grant Langston in 2007.

Eli Tomac at Fox Raceway in 2022
2022: Eli Tomac, Down to the Wire

Fox Raceway played host to the opening and closing rounds once again in 2022. The season was headlined by a thrilling 450 championship battle between Yamaha’s Eli Tomac and Honda’s Chase Sexton. In the season opener, Sexton and Ken Roczen led a Honda 1-2 charge and raced out to an early points lead. Entering the 12th and final round at Fox Raceway, however, Tomac led by one point. With shortened motos due to triple digit temperatures, the veteran got the best of Sexton as Tomac went 1-1 to score his fourth 450MX title and Star Racing’s second consecutive. In the 250 class, Jett Lawrence won his second straight 250MX championship as former teammate Jo Shimoda snapped Lawerence’s six moto win streak at Fox Raceway.

This interactive table details the all-time leaders at Pala. Who has the most starts, wins, podiums and points. Filter by class. On mobile, slide left to access more columns. To see all years of data, become a member of the We Went Fast Garage and help us continue (and expand) these unique views of the sport’s history.

All-Time Leaders

This interactive table details the Pala winners history. Who won in what year and what round was this venue. Filter by class. On mobile, slide left to access more columns. To see all years of data, become a member of the We Went Fast Garage and help us continue (and expand) these unique views of the sport’s history.

Winner History

Race Results